10 Best Tamari Sauce Substitutes

Need a tamari substitute? I’ve listed the ten best tamari alternatives here, some of which you already have in your pantry!

Four bottles filled with different tamari substitutes.

Are you cooking a recipe that requires tamari? If you only have an empty bottle and need a tamari substitute, I have compiled the best alternatives. A wide range of replacements is available, each with its own strengths. 

What is Tamari?

Tamari is a Japanese soy sauce prepared using fermented soybeans, wheat, and salt. Also known as dark soy sauce, it is the key ingredient in numerous dishes, including rice, noodles, sushi, tofu, and dumplings.

Even though soy sauce is the next best substitute for tamari, these two are quite different regarding color and texture. Tamari sauce tends to be richer and thicker. 

This sauce adds rich umami to diverse dishes. It is perfect for savory dishes that necessitate a thicker consistency, such as sauces and dips. Tamari sauce also works well for seasoning stir-fry. It is a gluten-free Japanese condiment with less salt and is darker than soy sauce.

Several dumplings arranged on a plate.

Best Tamari Substitutes

Sometimes, it can be a challenge to find tamari in the market. In these situations, you can use one of the alternatives to tamari mentioned below.

1. Soy Sauce

Easily the closest and most commonly accessible, soy sauce is the best tamari replacement. Soy sauce offers a similar umami flavor, even though it’s rather thinner in consistency. It is highly versatile and works perfectly for stews, stir-fries, and even as a dipping sauce for sushi. You can substitute tamari with soy sauce in a 1:1 ratio. Soy sauce can also be used as a marinade for different meats and combined with ketchup, sugar, and garlic to make a barbecue mix. 

2. Fish Sauce

If you like Thai cuisine, fish sauce offers a unique flavor similar to tamari. Mostly used in Southeast Asian cuisine, it is a condiment made from fermented fish. It might take some time to get used to the strong fish flavor and aroma because it can be overpowering if you add too much. Remember, fish sauce is stronger, so use ½ teaspoon of fish sauce for 1 tablespoon of tamari. The right ratio adds depth and a rounded flavor to your dish, which will impress our guests. This substitute for tamari gives your dish a funky, tangy, salty flavor.

Soy sauce in a bowl with soy beans scattered around.

3. Balsamic Vinegar

Another alternative to tamari is balsamic vinegar. It has a salty, sour taste, making it a versatile pantry staple. It pairs ideally when it comes to vegetables and meat. You can also pair it with honey or sugar to sweeten it, since balsamic vinegar is more acidic than tamari. Balsamic vinegar is commonly used in salad dressings. You must use ½ teaspoon of balsamic vinegar for 1 tablespoon of tamari.

4. Hoisin Sauce

If you want a gluten-free substitute for tamari, hoisin sauce is a great option. Made with fermented soybeans, it delivers a sweet, tangy, spicy, umami flavor. Hoisin sauce is thicker and sweeter than tamari, quickly adding depth to your dishes. You can use it as a tamari replacement to infuse seafood, meat, and poultry. This sauce tastes more pungent than tamari, so you’ll want to use a smaller quantity.

Grilled Japanese eggplants next to a bowl of hoisin sauce.

5. Anchovies

It may be hard to believe, but adding finely chopped anchovies to your dish gives tamari a similar flavor profile. Although not everyone loves anchovies, this ingredient is pretty versatile. This tamari replacement adds deep flavor and an ideal balance of umami, salt, and fish. Use the right proportion; otherwise, you might end up with an overly salty dish. From pasta sauces to Caesar salads, anchovies are a convenient ingredient for numerous dishes. To substitute for tamari in a stir-fry, use a 1:1 ratio.

6. Oyster Sauce

Despite its name, oyster sauce provides a less fishy flavor than anchovies or fish sauce. With a tangy taste, oyster sauce is similar to hoisin and can be used in a 2:1 ratio. This makes it a perfect sauce to prepare dips and stir-fries. Oyster sauce is a great substitute for tamari, but it’s sweeter and thicker. It is commonly utilized in Asian cuisine, particularly Chinese, to give it a distinct savory flavor. Remember, when adding oyster sauce, you should cut out the sugar if the recipe calls for it. 

7. Miso Paste

Another excellent substitute for Tamari is miso paste. This alternative is commonly used in Japanese cuisine and offers the same umami flavor. Miso paste tends to be thicker, so add a splash of water to loosen it, depending on your recipe. This tamari replacement can be a great addition to vegetables, meat, or tofu, even if the flavor doesn’t match specific recipes. If you are unsure about the flavor, taste miso first to get a sense of how it will affect the dish’s overall flavor.

Hand holding a small bowl of miso paste.

8. Coconut Aminos

Coconut aminos are an excellent soy-free alternative to tamari. They have a similar flavor, so you can swap them in a 1:1 ratio. This substitute is less salty, so you might need to add more to taste. It is sweeter and milder than tamari, so start with half the amount of tamari.

9. Teriyaki Sauce

For the perfect marinade or glaze on your poultry, use teriyaki sauce instead of soy sauce. It has four components: tamari, sugar, ginger, and brown sugar. It adds rich flavor and delicate sweetness to every dish it’s added to, and it tastes like Tamari sauce. Use it at a 2:1 ratio to get similar salt levels.

10. Salt

Salt, readily available in your pantry, will flavor Tamari similarly. Although the dish won’t taste the same, you can use salt if you don’t have any other ingredients. You can select from various salts, including chili, garlic, and onion. Even without umami, it still makes a perfect seasoning. 

Ramen noodles being held up with chopsticks.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I replace tamari with soy sauce?

You can substitute tamari for the standard soy sauce in any recipe that calls for it. The flavor profile is slightly different: tamari is stronger, and soy sauce is saltier. I recommend starting with less and adding more as needed.

Is tamari sauce gluten-free?

Yes, Tamari sauce is gluten-free and an ideal soy sauce substitute for those following a gluten-free diet.

Does Tamari contain MSG?

No, tamari does not contain MSG. On the other hand, some soy sauces might contain MSG.

Do you need to refrigerate the tamari after opening it?

Yes, it’s best to refrigerate the tamari after opening it. Stored properly, the sauce can be refrigerated for up to 3 months. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *